Poets logo

Strung Up

An across the room poem

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
10
https://www.observernews.net/2016/10/19/south-shore-symphony/

Glancing your way for the tenth time during this rehearsal,

I wish I was your cello,

Nestled between your legs.

How beautiful our music would be together!

*

Drat, I've lost my count again.

I hope the first flautist knows when to come in.

Oh well - more time to study you.

*

You perform with passion,

Your body swaying with the flow of the phrases.

When you know a passage by heart

And really feel it, you close your eyes.

I wish I could deliver such ecstasy to you.

I imagine our love-making peaking at a crescendo,

You singing my name...

*

Oops, I missed a measure.

Good thing the conductor is focused on the violins.

Best to avoid more mistakes.

*

I put extra labor into my playing,

Hoping you will hear my efforts

And know they are for you.

Do you ever glance my way when I am focused

and you're counting rests?

Do you fantasize about what a great love

We could share?

I certainly have...

Since I first saw you carrying your cello

Into the rehearsal hall.

*

Another long rest.

You catch me staring.

This time, I sheepishly grin rather than looking away.

Was that a wink?

Be still my racing heart!

I see the gesture as an invitation.

I will force myself to be brave and ask your name.

Please,

Share with me the depth of love you invest in your music.

love poems
10

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.