Poets logo

Your Sky-Blue Eyes

An across the room poem

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
19
cheapundies.com-photos-the-most-beautiful-blue-eyed-men-in-the-world

I found your eyes across the room.

No finer blue in sky or sea.

As eyes are windows to one's soul,

I knew I wanted you for me.

*

For I saw depth and decency,

Admiring your chiseled face.

My body was responding too.

I longed to capture and embrace.

*

Then you began to walk away.

I felt a panic taking root.

I had to act, that much was clear,

Yes, my resolve was absolute.

*

I followed, pushing through the crowd,

Discovering a new-found will.

I touched your arm, you turned and smiled.

My heart raced, though I stood stock-still.

*

I waited, tongue-tied, mouth agape,

And all you muttered was, "Hello."

Your fond expression mirrored mine,

With tender gaze and cheeks aglow.

*

Now many years have come and gone -

Our children raised and on their own.

I look into your sky-blue eyes,

Recalling love that few have known.

love poems
19

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.