Poets logo

Song of Love

...by a monkey

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
13
The backup singers: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/422281188776279/

Open mic night - it was my turn,

A girlfriend backing with her guitar.

I sing just like a howler monkey.

With my voice, I didn't expect to go far.

🎵

I was having a super time.

The audience got into it too,

And then I spotted you across the crowd.

Your smirk felt like a bad review.

🎵

Yet, you approached, ever so slowly,

Maintaining piercing eye contact.

You made me nervous, but eager to please.

I encouraged my fans to interact.

🎵

With everyone clapping and yelling out,

I danced about the stage like a freak.

To my horror, I fell right off.

It happened so fast; no time to shriek.

🎵

You caught me in midair. I clung tightly.

The urge to press my lips to yours was strong.

My head was spinning. So much shouting.

Then you kissed me. It was sweet and long.

🎵

Was this the start of something special,

Or was I just another fun conquest?

Discovering a new relationship is thrilling -

When growing passion is expressed.

🎵

I may not ever sing again.

I doubt they’ll miss me at that joint.

But what a story to tell our kids...

That is, if we ever get to that point.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.