Poets logo

Struggles When Aging

I woke early this morning due to aches and pains

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Struggles When Aging
Photo by Maria Lupan on Unsplash

The photo isn't of someone old, or is it? I typed in aging and this was one.

I believe I look like this at 68. Most photos looked way too old to be me, Hon.

Too early in the morning and I have a headache, a knee ache and a side pain.

Two ibuprofen and back to sleep I thought. It is 4:30 a.m. This is lame!

What do you do? I think about the alternative, right?

My time isn't up, not quite!

I am going to visit the 'cancer lady' today.

I have an oncology appointment on Friday.

Then July starts my physical therapy appointments, you see.

Two a week the scheduler informs me.

Now, just how do I think I am going to work?

It is always something I tell myself at my age or is this all just a quirk?

Does going to all these doctors make me a hypochondriac goes around in my head?

It appears I may have more questions than answers. I'm going back to bed!

Hoping to feel better when I wake up to drive hours to have a spa afternoon.

She has a chi machine, and a soqui bed (far infared), and others to fly me to the moon.

For a little while at least.

No aches and pains, no complaints, a feast.

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lawrence Edward Hinchee2 years ago

    I sympathize with you. At 61 I've had three back surgeries, have PTSD, anxiety, and depression. I take twenty-one medications a day to survive my day. Yes, I do understand.

  • I do empathise with you and sometimes feel like this myself

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.