Poets logo

Strings

and the connection in everything

By Nikki GatePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Strings
Photo by Thomas Grams on Unsplash

Maybe there’s a connection in everything.

Maybe there’s strings attached to the edges of an object when the sun goes down, and the shadows you see laying on the pavement or on the walls are just the string’s limit of how far they will let it go.

Maybe there’s ropes coming from the sun resting their grip upon the center of the earth, spinning it, and all the planets, around like a spinner top in a child’s hand. Maybe,

Maybe there’s something in you that’s also attached to the core of the earth.

In me too.

Maybe in all of us.

Maybe we’re connected to the stars and the earth and the rain when it comes pouring down! Maybe we’re all star children.

Maybe only some of us, I know I am.

I know I am drawn to the stars like, like the waves are drawn to the moon.

And maybe I’m a mixed drink of two parts earth and one part alien.

And I sit out, under the night sky, and I wonder

Is this my home?

Do I belong here?

Do any of us? Do we belong anywhere or do we just tell ourselves that we do??

Maybe we make up stories, and romance, and connect the ironies to make it seem like it was meant to be.

Maybe it’s not.

Maybe time's just fleeting, because where are you now? Where are you going to be in a few years? Do you even remember what was going on a few years ago or did you just forget?

Where are you going to be thousands of years from now when the earth explodes and time as we know it doesn't even exist the way we think it does?

Where are you going to be?

Where are we going to be, as humanity?

Because we are connected and that is one thing I do know.

And maybe

There’s strings attached to your heart. To your soul. To who you are as an existence, as a living, breathing, feeling thing, as stardust.

Maybe there’s literally invisible strings attached to all the people you thought you used to love And all the places you once had been.

And every time you walk by that place or that person they tug on their string in your heart, and they say

Remember me?

You loved me once.

Or hated me.

Or maybe even loathed me.

Maybe all three at different times but regardless, we’re connected

Through those memories, through those feelings, through those chemicals in our brains that we don’t think we can control, but we can.

Because we’re stardust.

And we are connected to the earth and the universe.

Maybe we pull at it’s strings.

Maybe it pulls on ours.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.