Poets logo

Heartstrings

Is this who I am? Or was this baggage given to me?

By Nikki GatePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Heartstrings
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Irritated,

my dad’s need for perfection

blows steam through my ears.

As does his ordering of the universe,

come through my hands

when I create.

The fear of lust and violation

flow through my blood, like

my mom’s lectures of those sins

flow through my head.

You see, I inherited his lack of communication

and her faintheartedness,

and I am a combination of

sea green waters and bright red rocks,

a cascade of art and literature,

with a vague feeling of what the right things to do are.

And as the ache of loneliness and longing

pull on my heartstrings,

I mull over the question

of whether those heartstrings are really mine.

Does the fear, the pain, the lack of communication,

the fixation of deflecting the damnation,

Is that a part of who I am?

Or was it given to me,

and I can let it go?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.