Poets logo

Stringing Lights

Free Verse Poem

By Lindsay SfaraPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
40
Stringing Lights
Photo by Kristopher Allison on Unsplash

How I yearn to be the voice

that liberates self from the past

for the joy of a future.

.

How I yearn for daylight

to warm my cheeks

and touch my lips,

.

To catch the whisper

of the divine voice

that welcomes my win,

.

And the twinkling eyes

of a soul with a fire

as lit as mine.

.

The journey of self

feels like a lonely trail—

but wait, why so?

.

Why, when I see

the sea of lingering faces

that watch my every breath?

.

The throngs of thoughts

that question my words

or admire my actions?

.

Why must the mind

desire the suffering

of a false loneliness,

.

When the imagination

behind our eyes

creates our own reality?

.

Cruel it is to settle

when it holds the power

to conquer all in its path.

.

And now I see

I am not alone

in my journey.

.

My journey connects

with others in a web

of stringing lights.

.

And we have our trails

blinded by the brain fog

that beds with isolation.

.

Now I see the path

the mind obscured from fear

of shining too bright.

.

How I yearn to be the voice

that liberates not just self

but all light from the fog.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse
40

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: linktr.ee/lindsaysfara

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • L.C. Schäfer30 days ago

    Lovely imagery in this, glad it got recognised with TS 😀

  • Blake Booth30 days ago

    Your imagery is powerful: I yearn for daylight to warm my cheeks, and touch my lips twinkling eyes of a soul with a fire, & imagination behind our eyes. I loved all of them. Every line was thoughtful and creatively comprised. Wonderful job. You totally earned TS.

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Congrats on top story! Amazing poem.

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Congratulations 🎉 on your top story I really appreciate your writing skill I agree when u said journey of self is lonely but it's better

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Ah, this spoke to me deeply, Lindsay...I often have issues with dealing with myself. This is like silky soft...gentle...but not without power. Just, love it. Well done on an stunning Top Story!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    How we holding ourselves back. Very good.

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Beautifully crafted, I love the line about imagination behind our eyes -just lovely 🤍

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    Fantastic poem!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Super job, loved it. I really liked this: And the twinkling eyes of a soul with a fire as lit as mine.

  • Ha Le Saabout a month ago

    Well written!

  • Lane Jannyabout a month ago

    The post presented me with a wealth of information, allowing me to broaden my horizons. https://basketball-starsgame.io/

  • Gena Adamsonabout a month ago

    I absolutely love this! We are all connected and our brains deceptive messages can be so cruel! Bravo 👏 great writing and message 🩶

  • Bhangs Corporationabout a month ago

    Congratulations on your top story 🥳🎉

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Our connections are so valuable

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Wonderful words , great poetry

  • Margaret Brennanabout a month ago

    congratulations on TS. this is really amazing. makes us all sit back and take a long look at ourselves.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Motivational & inspirational!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕 Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was extremely powerful! I loved it! Hope you're doing well Lindsay ❤️

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    How do we escape the cruel cage of self? Well done, Lindsay. You are wise beyond your years!

  • River Joyabout a month ago

    I really enjoyed this, beautiful imagery and passion. Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.