Poets logo

Strange Way To Love

Poem

By GenevievePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Strange Way To Love
Photo by Skyler Sawyer on Unsplash

There isn't much time I can see,

lately my mind has been clouded.

Why can't he just let me be,

can't he see that I'm wounded.

I saw the stranger in his eyes,

felt the lies in his fists,

but as his temper flies,

he claims his love will be forever.

Every bruise is like a knife in my heart,

slowly killing our love.

Every scar is a gun at my head,

threatening soon that I'll be dead.

Nothing that I do seems right,

he finds an excuse for every blow,

but I feel that I must fight,

for til the ends of me it won't be long.

I can see the tears in his eyes,

as I lay here half alive,

and I know that after I'm gone,

he will stare at my memory and say "I love you".

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Genevieve

Learning to process the experiences of life, my own or those of others, brought me to turn my feelings into words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.