Poets logo

Just This Minute

Poem

By GenevievePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Just This Minute
Photo by Nikola Jovanovic on Unsplash

Was it this red dress that caught your eye,

or just that you've never seen me in diamonds and curls.

I saw you from across the room and watched you smile,

I could tell that I had just shocked your world.

How could you know that one of the guys,

could so easily turn into a beautiful girl.

Do you want me for just this minute,

or are you ready to put your heart in it.

Do you just want to hold this body in your hands,

or are you ready to offer your soul and make a stand.

Do you only want the beauty that you see,

or are you ready to show that you love me.

Have you finally opened your eyes,

and no longer see me as just one of the guys.

You watch me from across the room,

and smile every time I look your way,

you're busy talking to the groom,

but don't seem to care what he has to say.

I start to feel panic and doom,

as I watch you slowly come my way,

I can feel my heart go boom, boom, boom,

as your kiss takes my breath away.

Now we're dancing across the floor,

as you whisper in my ear,

I'm so happy you've finally opened that door,

are you really saying everything I've always wanted to hear.

You say you've seen life with me could never be a bore,

and you never imagined I could bring you here.

Cuz when we met I was just the girl next door,

now that's turned into 4 wheelin', fishin', and beer.

So tell me that you want me for more than just this minute,

Yes, you're ready to put your heart in it,

forever and a day you want to feel this body in your hands,

by my side til we're old and grey is where you want to stand,

yes, you want to hold on to this beauty that you see,

for the rest of our lives you want to love me,

You're sorry it took you so long to open your eyes,

But, you're hoping I'll always be one of the guys.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Genevieve

Learning to process the experiences of life, my own or those of others, brought me to turn my feelings into words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.