Poets logo

Stolen Negative

of a lost photograph

By Chloë J.Published 8 months ago 1 min read
9
Stolen Negative
Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

The shadows under my eyes grow claws,

the better to drag slowly down my chalkboard face.

The shriek is dog-whistle silent and self-wrought.

//

In the mirror, they move like smoke,

found in the stolen glances

of places I have already and not yet looked.

//

Gently purple, like your wine-stained kisses,

ashy blue, like dusk-borne rain clouds,

tissue paper thin and saltwater studded.

//

The shadows under my eyes deepen;

twilight into midnight, caked with dried flecks of grief,

moon-sent bruises; I’m kissed by passive violence.

//

The shadows under my eyes grow claws;

they caress my face, like you used to,

and now my eyes are bleeding.

///

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Sara 8 months ago

    so beautiful and raw, i love it so much!

  • The inner, silent agony of forgetfulness & neglect, powerfully described here. Well done, Chloe.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Terrific! What a fascinating poem!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Woah! Love this, Chloe! So raw and sad...angry even at places!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.