Poets logo

Stolen Kisses

From Another Time

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
6

Your hands pressed secrets against my skin while my lips trailed questions along your shoulder. The night was built on years worth of wishes but tainted by morning epiphanies.

You were once the shore to my stormy ocean but now you are just another sunken shipwreck. I hold onto you with a tenderness that comes with denial. We will never stop letting each other go. Sometimes I accept that with a begrudging kind of comfort. Do I really have to apologise for searching for the door when you’re already halfway down the street, feet pounding against pavement?

We stole kisses from another time and smiles from the future we both knew we could never have. You breathed magic into me while the electricity in my veins promised me I wasn’t sleeping beside a bad decision.

The only difference between that moment and my daydreams from years before were the three words that lodged themselves in my throat. Past me was choking on the words I love you and present me was too used to the taste of you’re too late.

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed reading this please check out more of my poems:

love poems
6

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Fantastic words, but felt the sadness and regret, but I have just subscribed

  • D-Donohoeabout a year ago

    Beautiful and heart breaking!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Such beautiful language. I felt that. Wonderful work :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.