Poets logo

Still Alive and Kicking

A Tennyson style poem for vocal assist challenge

By Angel WhelanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10

I wear my years upon my face,

Each wrinkle formed in times of strife.

Careworn by hardships of my life,

Those darker moments leave their trace.

I’m also marked by happy times,

Joyous frolics of the youthful.

My eyes, some still call beautiful,

Though cradled now with laughter lines.

I may no longer dance all night,

Or drink and laugh until I burst,

It’s cocoa now for which I thirst,

And 10pm my new midnight.

But please don’t think my life is sad,

The simple things are still worthwhile -

A steaming bath with chamomile

And glass of wine is not so bad.

My blood pressure is sometimes high,

My hands are stiff when first I wake,

Yet there are many crafts to make

And books to read before I die.

So don’t think just because I’m old

That all my better days have passed,

There’s pleasure even till the last,

And I have stories still untold.

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Angel Whelan

Angel Whelan writes the kind of stories that once had her checking her closet each night, afraid to switch off the light.

Finalist in the Vocal Plus and Return of The Night Owl challenges.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    This poem made my heart sing! Well done!

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Nice! I especially liked the line where the speaker’s eyes are described as “cradled now with laughter lines.” Love this image!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    A great commentary on what it means to grow old. There is much beauty and wisdom in the process.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was lovey!!!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Beautiful work.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is beautiful. Well done.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    The best stories come from honest responses to pain. Great job

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Beautifully done :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very well done. Good professional work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.