Poets logo

Sterling River

Work in progress

By Kerri-Marie MaslankaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sterling River
Photo by Cecilie Johnsen on Unsplash

The white room lights dimmed softly. I felt the beat in my heart

quicken and the sweat from my brow warm. All I could recall was sitting on

a bench down the beaten path I walked every day. I carried my leather-

bound notebook with me everywhere. Every single day for ten years, I

walked the path to Sterling River and wrote ten pages of a story in my

notebook. Shaking out of my reverie, I realized that this white room started

to feel like it was closing in on me. While panic sunk into my chest, the

lights faded to almost nothing. It made the room have this iridescent glow.

Flecks of silver glittered throughout the cracks. It was stunning. Something

that has never captured my attention like this. Raising one hand, I pressed

my fingers to the wall and traced each shiny trail. Snapping my hand back,

I furrowed my brow in pain. The frost-bitten feel triggered a lost memory

of mine. I’ve been here before…

Capping the lid on my pen I closed my notebook and inhaled the dewy

scent of Sterling River. Stunning from a distance but far too cold to the

touch.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kerri-Marie Maslanka

I'm Kerri Maslanka and have always been an avid creator. I love crafting, writing, video games and more! I really enjoy sharing inspiration with others. If you enjoy my content, a generous like or small tip would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.