Poets logo

Stay Focused

"But nothing really lights a match - in my head or under my ass."

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Stay Focused
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

Pacing back and forth in my room,

thinking about an exercise to improve my poetry

proposed by Billy Collins.

It really is important to practice new skills.

Damn phone buzzing again.

I have a poem to write,

though I might as well check it.

Just another unimportant notification.

Damn.

My mind wandered again.

Damn.

Where was that thought going?

I'm happy the creek has shrunk down.

Though, it's kind of ruined the grass and trees.

I still like looking out there,

searching for inspiration for my next poem.

But nothing really lights a match -

in my head or under my ass.

Damn.

What was that thought again?

Never mind, if I sit down and write,

it'll come back to me.

If not that idea, then something even better

will start to seep out.

I wonder how Michael is doing.

I haven't seen him or his family for a while.

I hope they're holding up okay,

given the state of the world.

This jazz music sounds beautiful.

I wish I was in New York,

in a café, listening to this live.

But for now, this soundtrack will do.

When did my brow get so furrowed?

Damn.

I've got a lot of energy.

Where did that come from?

I can't sit still to write this poem.

Maybe I should just go for a walk.

Find some inspiration that way.

Billy Collins said to try an exercise like that,

so maybe that'll do the trick!

But, it's Friday night.

So maybe I should wait until next week

for the poem to come.

Yes, next week,

the poem will come.

Click here to read my last poem "Fair-weather Friend"

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed, then please share, leave a like or a tip, or check out some of my other writing by clicking on my profile icon. Thank you for your support, I truly appreciate it!

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram (deverswriting) or Twitter (doitlikederk)

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.