Poets logo

Star-filled Sky

A poem

By Rachel DeemingPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
11
Star-filled Sky
Photo by Jake Weirick on Unsplash

You've cracked me open like a nut;

My crust, my protective crust, has been breached

And I'm not sure how I feel about it.

I don't want to ooze out.

I've spent a lifetime, pointing with cement

Keeping it closed off, and close.

And now, you come with your words

And your feeling and your passion

And you split me open

Like nothing was there.

There was no hammer blow;

Just the soft caress of feelings known,

Losses created and made

And longings forgotten.

Intensities.

I thought they'd left

Or had concrete shoes

But they were slyly sleeping,

Waiting for the poker touch of remembrance

To jolt my essence,

Stoked -

And they leapt out,

Surprised with their tears.

I want to lie on a beach in the night

With the stars pockmarking the sky with brilliance

And I want the waves to remind me

Of feeling

And the optimism of knowing

That there is another in whom

You can nestle but, with a touch,

Can make you stormy.

And that it will be unexpected

And glorious

And damaging

All at once.

And so, I am conflicted.

I think I am scared.

I like what has been revealed

But it is soft and vulnerable,

Like the stuffing of a bear -

If I lose it, I will separate out into pieces.

It will be the end of me.

And yet...

Taking me back

Brings me forward;

I feel what I've known,

Again.

Fresh love, fresh tongue,

The need to be noticed

And I know that I want that thing

And I know that I don't need it

And that either way,

I'll be alright.

I will bask,

Knowing that it is me

And it is not

But that I can have it

If I want.

I am lit up by the thought

Of what I think I'm not.

Stream of ConsciousnessFree Verse
11

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    This is stirring and just beautiful, Rachel. It's pieces like this that just make me think out much I love Vocal for getting the chance to read pieces like this that I may not have otherwise. Inspiring and thoughtprovoking and just yeah...well bloody done.

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Why do focus on what we are not than what we are 🤔

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is beautiful. The vulnerability of wanting to create ourselves anew unhidden.

  • Help because I thought (and still think) that you have written this about how Abo made you feel initially and then broke your heart!! Jokes aside, your poem was so poignant and emotional!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is a wonderful and deeply felt poem, Rachel. I loved every line of it but this line deserves a special shout out: That there is another in whom you can nestle but, with a touch can make you stormy. Beautiful and self-assured writing!

  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    A very poignant poem, at once bold and reluctant. Very well wrought!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Either way....either way it is OK. Yes! Super poem!!

  • What a wonderful discovery in which to bask: that you can have what you want & it will be alright; but it will be alright if you don't as well. It makes me think of "Bell, Book & Candle" where he asks her if she could survive without him. She responds, "I suppose I'd have to." Of course, in the play what that suggests to him is that she doesn't really love him. Only after discovering that once he left she lost her witches' power did he realize that he was wrong. Happy ending. Yay!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    This is entrancing! The processing at the edge of a great adventure or precipice! Loved the lines: “And that it will be unexpected And glorious And damaging All at once.”

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.