Poets logo

Star-Crossed Lovers

by Mel

By MelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

parents are supposed to be forever

parents are supposed to be soulmates

so explain why the two of you never

seemed to work it out

you were perfect

you were everything two parents were supposed to be

you used to kiss each other every single day

you used to hug

you used to smile at the thought of seeing the other

at the end of a long day of work

you used to joke around

with each other

about the silliest of things

like maybe dad ate the last muffin

or mom forgot to set the alarm in the morning

I loved that

I loved being able to watch the love

happening between my parents

every single day

what happened

what happened to the ones I thought I knew

so well

you were supposed to be forever

you were supposed to be soulmates

you were supposed to live

happily ever after

you were supposed to be the proof that love really does exist

for your little girl

you were supposed to be forever

mom and dad

I rooted for you

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • finntasha burgess2 years ago

    i love this story <3, your an amazing writter.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.