Poets logo

Split

A poem

By Rachel DeemingPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
10
Split
Photo by Evelyn Clement on Unsplash

I'm really not sure what to do,

I want to break up with you.

What once was hypnotic

Now seems quite despotic:

Emotions I want overruled.

***

It's funny how soon it has turned

From something desperately yearned

To a taste very sour

More dark by the hour:

A desire that needs to be spurned.

***

The excitement that I used to feel

On the cusp of fanatical zeal

Is starting to wane

And earn my disdain

My light it's starting to steal.

***

I think about regaining space

Retreating to my carapace

Irrepairably torn

By derision and scorn;

I need to discover my place.

sad poetryheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Hi RD - Confession: I’ve written ‘HEARTSY’ with yours in mind! — Stand in Line for Royalties — JB

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Oh wow This struck deep! Well done and wonderfully crafted! The feeling of wanting to leave but for some reason or another, not being willing. Ouch. Been there. As always, fantastic work!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Went well for a week or two, Then it all came unglued...

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Ohh that words Choice was simply sublime! Loved this 🥹

  • So poignant and relatable! Loved your limericks!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Brilliant - amusing, but also quite profound.

  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    Absolutely brilliant, as usual!

  • Test8 months ago

    This was so raw an so relatable on so many levels. I have felt this feeling too many times 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.