Poets logo

Spirit Animal

Becoming The Dragon

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Spirit Animal
Photo by Raimond Klavins on Unsplash

When I was young

I was told my spirit animal is an elephant

A large, loving presence

A gardener of her forests

Kind, gentle, empathetic, intelligent, and wise

:

When I was a teen

I was told my spirit animal is a phoenix

A legendary song-bird that walks the line

between this realm and the other side

A vessel of consistent death and rebirth

Hardly ever recognized in each successive form

:

When I started college

I was told my spirit animal is a white tiger

A powerful presence you can't help but notice

Majestically fierce

Intimidating, yet alluring

Someone rare to find

:

When I was in a garage band

I was told my spirit animal is a honey badger

Relentlessly bold despite my size

Ready to battle lions without fear in my eyes

:

When I had my fortune read

I was told that I was once the squirrel

Frugal, resourceful, and adaptive

Just getting by with everything they have

Saving what they can for the bitter winter

:

When I had my fortune read

I was shown I have been the phoenix

The breath of transformation

Dying through the flames

Rebirthing from the ashes

:

When I had my fortune read

I was shown that I was becoming the dragon

Lucky, powerful, strong, and revered

:

I am learning to be the dragon

There’s no need to die in the flames

when you can dance through the fire

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.