Poets logo

Spiral

By Kimberli Alisa Wong

By Kimberli Alisa WongPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Image by Stefan Kellar @Pixaby

Today I realized I had been here before,

And, searching through old notes

I found this title, over an empty page,

An unwritten poem, which proved it.

I had wanted to forget

But the universe, I guess, won’t let me.

So I remember a different man,

Another face. A previous love, I guess,

Another one who

I put before myself.

Last time, the lesson was

Knowing I couldn’t fill the

Foundation of my life with another person,

That we build our own worlds first

Or everything, everything

Comes crumbling down.

This time, it’s knowing

I am enough, that what I have built

Has worth, and value,

And wisdom, and grace.

This one wants to act like

It doesn’t matter—

But I know who I am.

I know how precious and

Forgotten it is

To search for your own pieces

When the rest of the world

Walks the line

And you climb, in ecstasy

Towards the sky.

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Kimberli Alisa Wong

poet. writer. actor. filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KAWWritten by Kimberli Alisa Wong

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.