Poets logo

Spinal Tap

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Ramon Casas, "A Decadent Young Woman After the Dance," 1899

So many spines ache for your warm caress

That of a slim, yellow novel has won

For the nonce, but I suspect your largesse

Is greater still; shall we two have some fun?

Imagine my novel, along with me:

Is it a piquant, bodice-ripping yarn?

A tale of pristine, noble chivalry?

A plunge into a remote, icy tarn?

For you, I will conjure a thousand worlds

And people them with princes or paupers;

A galaxy of worlds woven from words

Will teem for you with heroes and monsters

So long as you will read what I have writ

I will pour out my blood to complete it

Ekphrastic

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    And I would read that blood like reading tea leaves hehehe. Loved your sonnet!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I love those first two lines so much. I'm not sure I like the way Ramon names his paintings though. Decadent? Reclining exhausted, more like. And still looking to read? This could be a picture of myself. I hope that book is "How to piss off people with seemingly decadent behaviour Volume 1".

  • Gerard DiLeo4 months ago

    Love this

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.