Poets logo

Sparks of Hope

Even without reason, I carry them still

By Kelly MendozaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Image uploaded from Unsplash

You promised forever

and then took it away

When will I learn

not to listen to what you say?

You wanted me angry

You said I should be

But I love you too much

to do the right thing for me

You hurt me more

than anyone else ever has

and I keep wanting you back

Only you get a free pass

My heart is wide open

It always has been for you

No boundaries, no walls,

no rules apply to you

I have no defenses

All that I am is yours

And you cut me and break me

and keep taking more

How many times

can one heart shatter

before it no longer functions

and very little matters?

How many tears

can one body cry

before reaching it's limit

and running dry?

You'd think I'd know better

You'd think I'd say no

But if you asked me to leave,

with you I'd still go

because my stupid treacherous heart

still carries a spark

of hope that won't die

even when I lay alone in the dark

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kelly Mendoza

As a newly single mother of 2, I've found myself with extra time on my hands . Whether it's fantasy or paranormal , reading and writing has always been an escape for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.