Poets logo

Awake and Asleep

You're always there. I can't escape you, even if I tried

By Kelly MendozaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Image uploaded from Unsplash

Your face haunts my dreams

asleep and waking

I wake up in tears,

reaching and shaking

But you're not there

and you never were

You didn't choose me

It was always going to be her

You'd think the dreams nightmares

and in a way they are

They're visions of what should be

and they form new scars

Your voice echoes inside my head

telling me you'll never leave

Empty promises spoken with honeyed lips

what you said, I believed

More than anything

I wanted to be cherished and loved

My nightmares are what

dreams should be made of

So I wipe away the tears again

and calm my racing heart

Remind myself I never really had you

It was over before it could start

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kelly Mendoza

As a newly single mother of 2, I've found myself with extra time on my hands . Whether it's fantasy or paranormal , reading and writing has always been an escape for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.