Poets logo

Sought Out

Desolate No More

By LJ Pollard Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sought Out
Photo by Scott Pruett on Unsplash

A pariah bound to wander the earth

She crosses the great divide

She ascends the holy mountain.

Forsaken in the Land of the Living

A stranger to all but sorrows,

She received not the promise then.

She approaches the gates

Of that high city adorned in gems

The Gardener bids her pass.

.

She greets the watchmen

Who never cease in their resolve.

They enclose about her with their embraces.

Retrieved across a wide expanse

It was not she, but He that sought her out.

He brought her to His hallowed hill.

Sunshine drifts through the trees

The scent of roses linger on the breeze.

The Garden is prepared for forthcoming nuptials.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I turn and see Him there.

While I am presently speaking, He hears.

He answers before I call out to Him.

I was that foreigner most Desolate

But here I am His delight

And It was this world for which I was made.

Here I am at rest. Here I am home.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

LJ Pollard

As long as I can remember, I've been writing and sharing stories. Writing and storytelling, whether it be a humorous poem composed in five minutes, or an epic fantasy told over several novels, brings meaning and joy to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.