Poets logo

Formerly for Lovers

Now Only Haters

By LJ Pollard Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Formerly for Lovers
Photo by Tanya Dusett on Unsplash

Rivers that flow to the Bay unbounded

Glistening from rays, heaven-descended

Cardinals dip down as visitors from above.

Plush grass cushioning my weary feet

Through spindly branches of pine, soft breezes

Wave welcome, bid refuge to travelers all.

By Molly Wilders on Unsplash

Where yet traditions centered our course

What once resounded over centuries

Must be cast off for the sins of our fathers.

We are cut off now without a past

Grounded in all but nothing presently

Looming ahead, our lack of future awaits.

Though discarded among the ruins

We but divert our torments and smother

Afflictions with attachments endless and cheap.

Materials skimming across skin

Today, they soothe the broken flesh thusly

Tomorrow, they are cast into the oven.

By Daria Volkova on Unsplash

I have no refuge for my soul here

Only an empty salve with no relief

Land of birth, to you I’ve become a stranger.

Where shall I flee, elude this bleak end?

Shadows dispatched from Sheol encircle

Tendrils of tyranny gather at my throat.

Friend, neighbor, statesman recognize me

No longer--my name shall now be Mara.

Until the close, my heart chants insistently.

This world is not my home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

LJ Pollard

As long as I can remember, I've been writing and sharing stories. Writing and storytelling, whether it be a humorous poem composed in five minutes, or an epic fantasy told over several novels, brings meaning and joy to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.