Poets logo

Sonnet to the Sea

Into the sea foam

By Phar West NaglePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

Like fish upstream, the ocean calls me home

As if this life ashore has been in dreams.

It seems I’m always pulled to slip, to roam;

With you gone, nothing’s here to mend those seams.

They’re tearing, daring to crack through my shell

And give my flighty soul to open air.

The ocean calls, begs me to run like hell,

Its promise sweeter now I know you’re there.

So let waves take me away, somewhere new,

For what life can I have without you here?

Maybe the tide will drift me right to you,

Or else like sea foam will I disappear?

You call me like the ocean in a storm,

Drag me down as I pray you keep me warm.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Phar West Nagle

Poet, author, lover, mother, friend.

Lover of mystery, the supernatural, psychology, philosophy, and the poetry that lives in all of us.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.