Poets logo

Sonnet 8

An Entry Into Randy Baker's Writing Challenge

By Steven Christopher McKnightPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
14
Sonnet 8
Photo by Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

Ethereal’s the thing my mind’s eye traces,

Enigma of a ghost of memory

That dwells within a litany of places,

Wherein I’ll never go, except for thee.

*

The labyrinth unravels at your word,

The puzzle solves itself, though you are wordless.

To remain here’s a thing I can’t afford,

I must convince myself your ghost is worthless.

*

From my own ears, I cannot pry your whisper,

Which rings so yearning in my doleful head,

Velvet soft, your touch on my skin blisters,

Your lips to graze my cheeks render me dead.

*

My darling, please, for this baleful cascade,

I beg of you to let our nothings fade.

*

As always, thank you for reading! To contribute to the 20 million-reader goal I have, check out the link below!

Sonnet
14

About the Creator

Steven Christopher McKnight

Disillusioned twenty-something, future ghost of a drowned hobo, cryptid prowling abandoned operahouses, theatre scholar, prosewright, playwright, aiming to never work again.

Venmo me @MickTheKnight

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I echo Chloe. No new words needed!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    If only I could make this a million times x million. But, a great poem subscribed and voted once.

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Excellent sonnet!! 😄

  • C. Rommial Butler3 months ago

    That last line breeds veils: "I beg of you to let your nothings fade." Well-wrought!

  • Chloe Gilholy3 months ago

    This was a great sonnet. Maybe this is why AI was too scared to insult you.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Oh my, this is beautiful and colour me stupid for not already being subscribed to you! Well done on an awesome entry to this fine challenge!

  • Gosh this was stunningly beautiful! You nailed this challenge!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fabulous sonnet!!! Love it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.