Poets logo

Smattering - An Abcedian

Yeehaw, y'all.

By Steven Christopher McKnightPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Smattering - An Abcedian
Photo by Zoltan Fekeshazy on Unsplash

All before me, hear this smattering,

Bring to me your weary eyes.

Cease for now incessant chattering,

Dare to read what I’ve surmised.

End for me this shameful act,

For stooping to the humble poem,

Gracious all, believe this fact:

Here in this world, I find no home.

In poetry, I never dwell,

Just prose, for prose’s sake.

Kindness show me, in this Hell,

Lopsided me forsake.

Many nights I labor on,

Nights for infertile verses.

On nights like these, I savor none,

Poor stanzas turn to curses.

Quiet now, I’m nearly there,

Returning soon to prose.

Suffering in this poet’s air,

This smattering, I suppose.

Unlikely am I to return,

Voracious, though I am,

With this here poem, with great concern,

Xylophone’s a word!

You think, I think, so poor of me, to clamor for this contest, but

Zombies all are we, you see—this abcedarian’s in protest.

social commentarysad poetryFor FunFirst Draft
3

About the Creator

Steven Christopher McKnight

Disillusioned twenty-something, future ghost of a drowned hobo, cryptid prowling abandoned operahouses, theatre scholar, prosewright, playwright, aiming to never work again.

Venmo me @MickTheKnight

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶3 months ago

    Brilliant!🤩 I love this poem! “In poetry, I never dwell, Just prose, for prose’s sake. Kindness show me, in this Hell,”… hilarious. Reminds me of a line in 10CC’s song from long ago “Art for art’s sake, money for God’s sake.” ✅

  • Salomé Saffiri4 months ago

    For a prose writer you did an outstanding work in poetry! What I TRULY enjoyed, is AT LAST finding a poem that rhymes. thank you!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Lol! Very nice. "Xylophone's a word!" killed me. 😆

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.