Poets logo

sometime

don't ask me when

By Joni ÉcritPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
sometime
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I'll take down the clock and throw out my watch.

Run someplace new with my phone turned off.

Whether by boat, by plane, or on my own two feet

My heart is begging for a change, can you hear it bleed?

I'll sit on a hill, pull out clumps of grass

Forget what was "taught" in last Sunday's Mass

Throw out all my ideas of a traditional life

But I swear to God I'll figure it out, sometime

I'll make it sometime, I swear I'll make it there

Take her to the sea. Open her eyes too.

Ask her to come with me

She'll ask, "Why you?"

Remind myself that "time" really can't exist

All the roads are lined

Check them off my list

Tomorrow won't come if I'm standing in wait

I'll come back yesterday

Bring back the time I didn't take

I'll make it sometime.

I'll make it there.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.