Poets logo

Something That Came From Nothing

Theories about the world

By Daniel CottlesPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Something That Came From Nothing
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Fertility, life, reproduction; decay

However, this cycle doesn’t go away

There wasn’t a beginning

And there won’t be an end

Or at least, we don’t know when

For those who choose not to worry

My heart is filled with envy

But my curiosity sticks with me

I want to know the truth

But I guess I’ll know when I die

I will see either darkness or light

But if I don’t see light I won't ever know

Without a beginning

How did we come to be?

Was there a creator

Or did we come from nothing?

Both sides sound just as crazy as the opposing

And yet both parties continue to boast

A cultural divide over from the wrong and right

Without common ground we divide

That’s why we use the 1st Amendment

It’s our country’s guide

There’s isn’t a wrong or right

But yet we still argue

Let’s entertain the thought of a god

Claimed to have breathed life into the first man

But who was the god that breathed life into god

Our minds can’t fathom that thought

But if I ask questions it’s a sin against god

So I’m shot down but the pastor

I’m supposed to follow blindly

If I refuse kindly

Their backs turn

I’m just trying to understand

Pastor, lend out your helping hand!

Answer my questions

So we must come from nothing?

But we had to come from something

A place where questioning is accepted

Where science is projected

Evidence is true

The beginning is a theory

Because the evidence lacks

Keep in mind, a theory is not facts

There's no way to know

However, something can't come from nothing;

Evidence shows

This contradicts

Making our way back to a god

Perhaps there were more than one

Like humans creating AI

A team effort that got the job done

Maybe AI will create their own

Then AI will become gods

And then we would be

The gods who made the gods

Who’s to say what’s wrong and right

Every theory and myth doesn’t make sense

So let the individual decide

social commentarysurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Daniel Cottles

Just a Alabama hick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Patrick M. Ohana7 months ago

    "So let the individual decide" based on empirical data : )

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Something from nothing! Great poem! Fantastic! 💙♥️💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.