Poets logo

Cluttered Mind

Why doesn’t the mind get uncluttered?

By Daniel CottlesPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
Cluttered Mind
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Cluttered mind

Why do you keep me awake at night?

Why do you insist on filling my thoughts with doubt?

Why shout, when I intend to listen?

I never asked for my own opinion

I never asked to remember pain

I never asked to remember my mistakes

How can I undo this clutter?

People say to meditate

Or take a day for oneself

Yet, I’m alone most of the time;

With this cluttered mind

I listen and I understand

I hear and I don’t speak

Yet, it’s still talking

Why do our minds insist on talking?

Why does it insist on remembering the bad over good?

Why doesn’t a cluttered mind ever get cleansed?

Free VerseMental Health
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Cottles

Just a Alabama hick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.