Poets logo

Something Shifted

by R. C. McLeod

By Rebecca McLeodPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@rsoria89?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Ricardo Soria</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/hands-ground?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

I recall the moment when

gazes brushed across the room,

and softly, you smiled at me -

a smile, which I returned.

It baited me,

captivated me,

and I knew I needed you.

-

Something shifted then,

so elegantly you moved

as you passed me by

and left me standing there.

It entranced me,

romanced me,

and I had to follow you.

-

Wisdom don’t fail me…

I must take this leap.

-

I noticed those little things:

the way narrow brows brought

smooth wrinkles to your forehead;

your sweet musk, like juniper.

It captured me,

enraptured me –

and I felt this love for you.

-

Something shifted when

I watched you purse your lips -

God, those lips –

as you gave some contemplation.

It ensnared me,

it dared me,

to finally be with you.

-

Courage can’t fail me,

these stakes are too steep.

-

I remember that first kiss,

and how you pressed against me -

limbs and bodies bound together,

nails dug into my skin.

It excited me,

delighted me.

Was it the same for you?

-

Something shifted then,

glazed in argent moonlight,

between sweat and heat,

rasping breaths, and bruising grips.

It chilled me –

thrilled me –

and panic consumed you.

-

Strength don’t fail me -

I’m in way too deep.

-

I memorized those eyes,

like rolling ocean waves

that drew me under, deeper

until I drown with you.

It satisfied me,

pacified me -

but what to do with you?

-

Something shifted then,

something now I knew:

to be my lover’s keeper,

At last, I felt alive…

it frightened me,

no, enlightened me -

what I’d done to you.

-

My love hadn’t failed me -

when your soul I’d reaped.

-

I know you’re mine now,

my beautiful marionette…

my fragile figurine…

and only I can seek you out.

It invited me,

reminded me,

when I would visit you.

-

Something shifted then,

and when the gavel falls,

I find no shame within me,

because, to me, you’ll belong.

Yet it addicted me,

and convicted me,

the last to be with you.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca McLeod

I am a YA-speculative fiction writer with a focus in sci-fi/fantasy. Writing has always been a passionate passtime for me, and has grown into my adult aspirations. For more about me, visit my personal site at www.rcmcleod.home.blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.