Poets logo

Something New

I'm back

By Tressa RosePublished 24 days ago 1 min read
6
Something New
Photo by Warren on Unsplash

I had to have a conversation

with myself again today,

and it wasn't a very pretty talk.

Because I had to remind myself

of things I'd rather pretend don't exist,

And tell myself it's time to grow up.

I did what I did

because you came back to me,

the real you, the one I called my love.

And I did what I do best

by giving it just one more chance,

and mostly, you didn't disappoint.

I saw you trying,

and I saw you changing,

and all the progress you were making.

I thought to myself,

"We're gonna be ok."

And felt a little hope.

But I couldn't shake this feeling.

Something nagging deep inside,

telling me I couldnt be happy with you anymore.

I told the voice shut up.

Told it to go fuck itself,

because I could make it work.

I mean, I finally got you back.

No way in hell

did I plan on letting you go.

I COULD FIX THIS.

I blamed this feeling on work,

and sure, work was an issue.

To the point I snapped and quit.

I was done feeling undervalued

and completely unappreciated,

by the people I busted my ass for.

Plus the toxicity of family members

and their cheating, backstabbing ways.

I was becoming sick.

Sick of it all,

all the fake shit

and all of the fake people.

I felt it coming to a peak

inside of myself,

I felt my breaking point coming.

“Reset.”

That word wouldn't leave me alone.

It was a menace to a trying heart and mind,

Finally, I realized I couldn't fix this.

At some point,

you just have to be done.

Whether it be by a wise willingness,

Or the complete inability to

possess tolerance for the situation anymore.

My “Me.” has just had enough.

So here I sit, in this foreign room,

Reseting, unsure of what my new future awaits, yet grateful.

Mental Healthsad poetryinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFamily
6

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    This was so poignant and emotional. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani23 days ago

    Some parts were relatable. Enjoyed your writing style. Hope you're okay and hope for better days to come for you!

  • D. J. Reddall24 days ago

    This poem is full of pathos and evokes genuine sympathy. Fake and traitorous as so many are, there are those who can be genuinely touched when you make the contents of your consciousness public in verse.

  • Margaret Brennan24 days ago

    Awesome; I know we all felt that time and again. I did the same with my ex when his girlfriend dumped him and he wanted to come home. I thought about it. Thought hard since we had two kids. Finally, my mind said, "no way." My sons and I not only survived, we thrived. thank you for writing this to remind me how strong I can be.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.