Poets logo

Letting go

A sweet goodbye

By Tressa RosePublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
5

Mountains of hard white rocks
Crumble when hearts break down
Speeding like a cockroach avoiding demise
Selfish mind telling you nothing else matters.

You guilt me to give you your way
Till I have given every last speck
Of heart I had left to give
Now, not even dust remains.

Killing me slowly under your thumb
With your salted pretty promises
Made with a forked acidic tongue
And angel like devil eyes.

Your lack of any and all action
Has said enough to my blind eyes
But my sickly torn heart
Only chose to say give me more.

I finally saw your true ugly face
Told you to make a choice
Me all in, or you relying on your vice,
I'm actually glad I wasn't your choice.

You made it a lot easier for me
To finally grieve then let you go
Guess I should be thanking you
For breaking those unbearable chains.

Now I can heal
Now I can breathe
Now I can finally
Start taking care of me.

Cause what was it really?
Only just a dream
Time to wake up
And find the better me.

love poemssad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dasani Jonesabout a month ago

    This was so heart-felt! Way to show who you are! Very good work!🥰😘❤️‍🔥

  • Sandra Matosabout a month ago

    I love your use of imagery. Sometimes the things that seem unbearable are what we needed to begin to become whole. Thank you for sharing this.

  • P.A.Vinura Jayasankaabout a month ago

    A cross section of the humans. Nicely done!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Toxic relationship know how to pull you in but we have to stick to our healthy logic to get rid of toxic. Nice Work !!!!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Wow, wow!! So powerful and I loved these lines: Of heart dust I had left to give Now, not even dust remains. .. Killing me slowly under your thumb With your salted pretty promises Made with a forked acidic tongue And angel like devil eyes. 👏 good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.