Poets logo

The truth hurts

But so does the lie

By Tressa RosePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3

I'm allowing my heart to be repeatedly mistreated
And my feelings invalidated over and over
For the sake of some chance
That you will eventually start loving me,
like I deserve to be loved.
And in turn I eventually stop loving myself.
The crazy part is I lie to myself and say
I'm doing it for love.
But if I take an honest look at it,
at some point,
I start doing it because I am scared.
Scared that I'm once again going to end up feeling like I'm not enough.
I keep going through the same cycle,
Telling myself one day you will finally hear me and make the choice to be better for me.
So I continue to put up with you disregarding my feelings,
because it's easier for me to tell myself
that eventually
I will be enough for you to want to change.
Rather then to have to accept
that you will probably choose
to just let me walk away when the time comes that I can't put up with it anymore.
And I will have to face that
I put all that time, effort, and pain,
into someone who once again
would rather let me walk away than be accountable for their actions.
So I stay stuck.
Because as painful as it is putting myself through this,
I know that pain is nothing
compared to what I will feel when I finally have to accept that I wasn't enough.

heartbreaksad poetryMental Health
3

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧about a month ago

    Stand tall, Tressa! Be true to who you are and let the rest fall where it may. Some things are simply out of our control. :( No matter how hard we try, sometimes we just cannot change others. Life sucks sometimes, but you have friends here who care. I care. Sending my thoughts and prayers!

  • Dasani Jones2 months ago

    I am so sorry Tressa. I know how that feels to feel like you’re alone. I want you to know I’m here. I’m here if you need. You’ve come so far! Too far to go back. Just finish the trip. We’ll be here to hold you up til you get there.❤️‍🔥

  • I'm so sorry you are going through this 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • I FEEL YOU TRESSA. LOVE YOUR STORY.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.