Poets logo

Something More

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
12
Something More
Photo by Paul Zoetemeijer on Unsplash

Trying to keep the balance

Under the valance

Refraining from a dalliance

Because I wanted more

From the moment I saw you

I knew there was something special

The look in your eyes

Told me more than your words ever could

The way you push your hair

How I could I not stare

Lost in the glare

Of your light

They way you stared back at me

In the day and the night

Feeling intoxicated

Waiting on bated breath

Because our hearts are hooked

But we have been shook and shaken

‘Til we feel all has been taken

But there is no chance

If we don’t advance

With care

Is all I dare for

All I ask

Watching the chaos unfolding

It’s all that I’m holding

Onto

The next place

Where I can see your face

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
12

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Relationship and desire in a nutshell. Anyone who get valance into a poem which isn't about home furnishings or old ladies deserves credit.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Relationship and desire in a nutshell. Anyone who get valance into a poem which isn't about home furnishings or old ladies deserves credit.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Can I read this on the podcast??? 😍

  • Some wonderful words, beautiful poetry

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    This would make a great spoken word piece. Have you thought of recording yourself reading it?

  • J. Delaney-Howe8 months ago

    I read this outloud. Love the flow. Nice work!

  • Really loved the flow of this, and the message that came with it. It felt very relatable and beautifully written!

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    This poem flowed so well! I felt the emotions.

  • How oft have each of us been there, trying to keep our balance & not make fools of ourselves while being so irresistibly drawn to someone else? Well done! The shifting cadences keep us off balance while still rushing through the flood of urges & dizzyingly frantic rhymes.

  • This was so emotional and beautifully written! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.