Poets logo

Something Different

Relationship - Dating

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Something Different
Photo by René Ranisch on Unsplash

I am not quit sure when it changed,

Something has shifted,

Feelings have developed,

And I find my heart holding its breath,

Maybe its how you hug me a little tighter,

Acknowledge my reactions with kisses,

Continue to show up,

But something feels different,

You are saying the right things,

Wanting to be around me,

Creating experiences,

and showing me your vulnerability,

You are curating kindness back,

Showing me you care,

Reciprocating our pleasure's,

And you continue to be there,

Younger me would be falling in love,

diving into the comfortable intricacies,

But I have been excited enough,

to know this feeling is scary,

Because I am becoming connected to you,

and you carry so many unknowns,

We have progressed past the bright, shiny and new,

And together we have grown,

So now it feels different,

It feels nice,

From the days spent with you,

to waking up and saying goodnight,

I feel appreciated,

I feel seen,

But this is heavier than casually dating,

And I wont let myself be naïve,

Because I have been here,

I no longer walk without any fear,

I carry around the ghosts whom came before,

Those I have invested in, the ones that know, but left,

the ones that went from love to pain,

Another ending to add to my name,

And I have a lot of love to give,

And a lot of life to live,

And I want to do that with someone,

so though we speak through lyrics,

encourage each other to be better,

I cant ignore the fear that hits,

how this feeling has passed for others just like the weather,

But I am still in,

for more than I was before,

this is past taking you at face value,

This is me seeing the possibility for more,

and that is so scary for me,

Because I know it wont be easy,

Another person to let in, who may eventually leave,

But I no longer walk with any ignorance,

But we're at the point where somethings different.

love poems

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.