Poets logo

Someone Watching Over Me

A Sonnet Inspired By Something Juliet Told Me

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
8
Image By Author

Introduction.

On Friday my Auntie Joan died aged 85, my dad had been looking after her, so she wasn't alone. I phoned my sister Yvonne (she told me it had happened) and my daughters Kirsty and Juliet, and eventually got in touch with my dad and we spoke at length.

Anyway, if you know me and Juliet you will know that our two-minute conversations usually last about twenty minutes and she said something that really touched me. She said that she felt that her nana (My mum who died in 1990) is always watching over her. Juliet has had a lot of health issues but is strong as a horse (and she loves riding horses) as well as being an amazing cook while doing her job at the Inland Revenue and lots more.

That is what inspired this sonnet, and I included one of my mum's favourite songs

πŸŒœπŸŒΈβ™Žβ€οΈπŸŽπŸŒΈπŸŒ›

There Is Someone Watching Over Me

Someone Who Loves Me That I Can't See

She Is Still My Nana, That Is Clear

She Looks Out For Me, Year After Year

πŸŒœβ€οΈπŸŒ›

She Keeps Me Safe, And She Always Has

From My Childhood, Through The Time That's Passed

And I Know That She Is Always There

I Know I'll Always Be In Her Care

πŸŒœπŸŽπŸŒ›

My Nana's My Guardian Angel

And For That I Am Ever Grateful

I Know She Is With Me Every Day

She Watches Over Me, Come What May

πŸŒœπŸŒΈπŸŒ›

She Is My Nana, She's There For Me

I Feel Safe And Loved, Always Will Be

πŸŒœπŸŒΈβ™Žβ€οΈπŸŽπŸŒΈπŸŒ›

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Mike, sending hugs and condolencesπŸ˜Άβ€πŸŒ«οΈ Your lovely poem was beautifully expressed. Lived it!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • I'm truly so sorry for your loss πŸ₯Ί Your poem about your Mom from Juliet's POV was very beautiful!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    My deepest condolences for your loss, Mike. The poem is beautiful!

  • Deasun T. Smyth11 months ago

    Great job, this poem was so beautiful. Sorry for your loss, God bless.

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer11 months ago

    Sorry for your loss, Mike. This is a lovely tribute. It feels very comforting to any of us who have lost a loved one. Although, I do hope they know to look away when I am on the loo.

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    I am SO sorry for your loss. What a lovely tribute poem! ❀️

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY I AM VERY SORRY FOR YOUR LOST I PRAY THAT GOD GIVE YOU AND YOUR FAMILY STRENGHT AMEN BLESS YOU BEAUTFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.