Poets logo

Somebody Told Me

Composure

By Alexa CallawayPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was in New York, I found the inspiration I needed to continue writing. My cousins support my writing, so they were generous enough to buy me two poetry books filled with daily writing prompts. Of course, I haven't been writing in them daily, so I decided to close my eyes and flip the page until it lands on whatever prompt for me to write.

I decided to start writing and actually finish my poems because of Miles Carter. For those who aren't familiar with Miles Carter, he is a poet, and his work is amazing. His voiceovers give me chills, and since this poem was inspired from his latest work, I placed his social media information at the bottom of this page.

Write a poem that starts with the cliched line "Somebody told me." However, the poem must be one that isn't cliched and surprises the reader.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME that I was hard to love

and I froze in time

while reminiscing how much of myself

I transferred to another

who

wasn't even

mine.

I kept taking apart

pieces of my heart

and lending them to the same somebody

who

walked away.

I gave my all at attempts that he would fall

but i was the only one who wanted to stay.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME that I wasn't worth fighting for.

how can i be

when you met me at my lowest.

I gave it all to the one who got away,

see he got away the slowest,

he kept her around the longest,

she was my friend disguised as an angel

but she found her soul tied to him.

I don't know who got fucked more,

my feelings or me.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME I don't communicate well.

Last time i got told "we gotta talk"

he did all the talking,

muted my feelings like tweets,

guess his guilt couldn't handle the subtweets.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME I wasn't worthy.

And it tainted my mind and my body,

asking myself,

am i worth it.

I spent years covering my stains,

hiding behind my shadow,

writing to express my pain.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME that I'm easy to love.

I radiate happiness

with a healing heart.

My smile

matches the beautiful color scheme of a sun set.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME I am worth fighting for.

The fire in my soul.

The grace in my heart.

One of the many things to set me apart.

How I run

with open arms to shield others

who are undercover

fighting their own demons

and from causing self harm.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME I am,

the light of their life.

That SOMEBODY is me.

Self love and self care

has made it impossible for others toxicity

to burden me,

they're not hurting me,

they're hurting themselves.

Don't project your dark clouds

over my rainbow.

Because even when it rains

the rainbow's beauty still outshines.

SOMEBODY TOLD ME

to love myself first.

To My Personal Sunset

To my person

Whoever you may

Know that I've been practicing to be your

personal sunset.

My arms are ready to

embrace your presence.

To roll over and gaze into your eyes until

morning rise,

caressing your warmth.

Admiring our honeymoon phase while

holding hands.

I've never experienced love but I hope to

experience it with you.

I wonder if your lips taste like brown sugar,

as sweet as icing on my favorite cake.

Wishfully thinking it'll be on our wedding day.

Imagine the intensity of our forever.

That's the privilege of being friends and

then becoming lovers.

As I paint this picture I try to stay in between the lines,

I remember your triggers as if they were

mine.

As if you were mine.

The Weatherman

My Personal Sunset

Everything You Are

I'm Still Here

Soul Ties

Composure

The Weatherman

Brand New Start

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alexa Callaway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.