Poets logo

So long my friend

An Ode to my Tree

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

In June, a storm came through and tore right through you.

Your structure compromised…

In August, another came through, with winds worse than before, you were hurt again.

You had no time to heal…

You are beautiful to look at,

You’re home to many creatures,

You provide protection from the sun.

You should not have been confined to an area so small.

For your beauty should be wondered where you can grow as large as you want.

Thank you, dear friend, you comforted me many times.

A new tree to be planted, garden to be expanded, new life to be grown.

I will honor you will flowers, vegetables and more.

I’m so sorry, my friend,

I don’t want to see you go,

But it is time for peace of mind,

For I fear, your next great big fall.

June
June
June
Aug
Aug
October

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.