Poets logo

Snow

and other things that blanket my worries

By AJPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like

Snow in the middle of the night, when it sneaks in after a warm few days.

I am sure, I am the only person there to see it, sparkling just for me

And it blankets the world and the city and the house and my mind, muting the cars in the road, the dog in the yard and the metronome tick of my clock.

And sitting in my car in my driveway, is like a purgatory of time and space I was there for two minutes and all of a sudden it's been two hours

The song I can't bring myself to turn off halfway plays softly, and I let the motor idle, and the work I have to do, the call I have to make, the thud of my own heartbeat are out of mind for a minute

Coming home late and the patter of paws, getting slower and slower, reveals my personal greeting committee, the only one who worries about where I was at 3 a.m.

I willingly crumple to the floor and we sit in the dark illuminated by the microwave and burry my hands in his fur

It's nice to take a break

So the snow lands a little heavier and the car idles a little longer and I thread my hands into his fur a bit tighter

And I don't think, I don't explain, I don't worry

I can just see the snow, it sparkles

ProselistFirst Draft
Like

About the Creator

AJ

Because locking myself in a dimly lit house on the seaside and feverishly pouring my soul out on a typewriter is not available to me right now

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.