Poets logo

Snapped

No More Distractions

By Judey Kalchik Published 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
37
https://pixabay.com/users/705847-705847/

Determined, I'm driving, steadfast resolve squaring my pose.

Is that the rain, or tears? Does it matter? Who Knows?

Staying forever means killing my deepest self; does it matter who goes?

Tomorrow they'll talk, my cover's blown, though it's not what I chose,

Riding's not running, no longer hiding, now my misery shows.

Anxious accumulation, thrifty reuse, mending worn clothes

Coupons and clearance, make-do's and go-without's; all decompose.

Those best efforts were useless, time passed swallowed by creeping shadows.

Ineffective wishes, unborn hopes, my strangled dreams died in silent death throes.

Once bent to his wishes, asleep to myself, allowing his will to superimpose

Now myself, now awake, no more play, no more past, now my time, just my tomorrows.

Image by Brigitte Werner from Pixabay

I appreciate you reading my thoughts! While you’re here, please choose one or more of the ways below to interact with me and the other writers on Vocal.

FIVE ways to interact with writers on Vocal:

  1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts.
  2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.
  3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.
  4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.
  5. A one-time tip or even a monthly pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirationalheartbreak
37

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Amazing work, Judey! I really love this because - for me - it shows the endless battle between excepting what "is" and finding the strength to push on. This really moved me; amazing work!! 🥹❤️❤️

  • Tehreem nadeem12 months ago

    Good one

  • Lived the flow of this one

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Love the flow, the emotion. Great poem Judey 🥰

  • Ashley McGee12 months ago

    Feeling this one today for sure!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is very emotional and shows a lot of strength. Bravo.

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    JK ~ Your 'Allure' is so 'Adored' by this 'Boomer' ~ - More Please - Jay Kantor - aka 'JK' - Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    This was packed with emotions! Fantastic piece!!

  • Heather Zieffle 12 months ago

    Really wonderful! You summed up finding yourself perfectly :)

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    AMAZING piece, Judey! Pain, loss, POWER, liberation, hope!

  • KJ Aartila12 months ago

    Wow! An acrostic and rhyme? Beautiful work, beautiful words. ❤️

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    “Strangled dreams” is so vivid!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Bold & beautiful!!! Loving it!!!💖💖💕

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    “Ineffective wishes, unborn hopes, my strangle dreams died in silent death throes” Excellent line, it’s sobering, yet, motivating.

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    I love the way this flows. Perfectly done.

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    I see a narcissist within the lines. I see liberation of self. I see determination to restart with much resolve and self love. Yes, i am reading between my own lines within your lines. So love this poem.

  • Excellent take on the challenge Judey and intense too

  • Nice sonnet ✨💖📝🎶

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    You should record yourself reading this poem. It's powerful.

  • What once had been crushed beneath the narcissist's boots has now been reborn & taken root. And how you have blossomed, my friend. Strong, compassionate, independent, brilliant & wise. (And might I add, adored by so many.)

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I can see this being a song, excellent entry

  • sleepy drafts12 months ago

    Beautiful. There is so much heartbreak here, but more importantly, so much hope. 💗 Thank you for writing and sharing this piece!

  • I have so enjoyed discovering your writing. You infuse great passion and emotion through your writing. Thank you for sharing this with us. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.