Poets logo

Snack of the Heart

Nostalgia in every bite, memories in every taste

By Ameer BibiPublished about a month ago 1 min read
13
Snack of the Heart
Photo by Taylor Kiser on Unsplash

In the sunlit corner of our schoolyard fair,

Where laughter danced like music in the air,

Memories of our beloved snack arise,

With sweet nostalgia filling up our eyes.

Anticipation thrummed with every break,

For sweet potato and chickpea's sake,

A blend of salty and sour, it tastes divine,

In our young hearts, forever to entwine.

The canteen, a haven, the kind aunt's domain,

With her bucket full, a treasure to obtain,

Like bees to honey, we'd eagerly convene,

For a bite of that chart, so heavenly pristine.

In white uniforms, with ponytails so neat,

The schoolyard was our kingdom, where joy was replete,

Skipping ropes twirling, friendships bloomed,

Under the sun's golden rays, laughter consumed.

Now, when sweet potatoes come into view,

I'm transported back to those days anew,

From the simple pleasures, the happiness we found,

In that cherished snack, on hallowed ground.

Though time may pass, and memories may fade,

The joy of that snack, in my heart, is engraved,

A tribute to childhood, where dreams take flight,

In the sunshine of our memories, forever bright.

____________________________________________

Note: In our native language, it is called the Shakar-Qandi chart, and it is one of the most favourite snacks of all ages; it is a healthy diet. It is rich in all essential nutrients like natural carbohydrates and vegetable protein from peas and probiotics from yoghurt; we often make it during birthday celebrations, in Ramadan. Boil chickpeas and sweet potato mixed in with yoghurt and some spices. If you would love to try it, here is the link to the recipe. (no affiliated link)

excerptsvintageFriendshipFamily
13

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I love to read, write, and discuss life, health, fiction, and humour. If you write anything related to these topics, subscribe to me and share your story; I would love to read it and share my opinion. You can find me on Medium.

With Thanks

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor13 days ago

    Dear Ameer. You posted a question as to "why you may not being read as much as you desire." Especially since your make many remarks to other writers on the site. *Permission to speak freely? *I will Delete this in a few minutes so as not to embarrass you in any way; just trying to be helpful.  I'm also a Professor - Adjunct Business Law - I lecture Pro Bono; giving back to the community. I'm certain that your remarks are not intended to be condescending. But, when you say 'Keep up the Good work' and such. Authors may think you are 'Grading' them as if they were your students. Perhaps it is a cultural colloquial way that you introduce yourself? I don't know but, if my words help you then I'm glad I've OverStepped in this fashion. I love this story. I have been a Vegetarian for years and always search for new recipes. If you're curious about me please view 'Always' and 'Wheelchair Etiquette.' I'm not into contest and don't write on Medium or any other site but I see that you do. Unlike on that site when Authors bunch up stories they are hard to keep up with here. Please take a look at my scroll. I've started to sketch my own headings to lead into my stories; it feels better that way. I would never use Ai. I Archive my stories 'For the Kids Someday,' as me; for better or worse. - With my Respect - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community

  • Aww I love sweet potato snack 💕😋Also chickpeas salads are now my favourite 🤩

  • M.B Hesperia 24 days ago

    Thanks for sharing the video , seems delicious like your poem.

  • Ainy Abraham24 days ago

    Your poem made my mouth watered. Delicious 😋

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes but omgggg I loveeeeee chickpeas! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.