Poets logo

Smile.

Poetry about happiness

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Smile.
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

We went on our own ways

Said our goodbyes to each other

Never knowing how long it would be

Until we would meet again

Years went by and I missed you so much

But I did not let myself mope around

I tried to move on and live my own life

It was going well until I saw you

We ran into each other as adults

You didn’t recognize me first

Until I spoke your name softly

And asked you if we could go inside together

The same place we’d meet when we were younger

The small coffee shop we adored so much

For a moment, I felt my heart skip a beat

When you smiled at me for the first time in forever

And I felt like I was a teenager again

Back to the days when life didn’t seem so bad

We lived and we laughed together

And we loved each other

Even if you don’t feel the same way now

I still loved you, even if it’s been years

And I wondered what it would be like

If we could fall in love again

As we entered the café together

Walking side by side

Just like we used to.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.