Poets logo

SMILE

no one understands

By DC McLevainPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
SMILE
Photo by Naomi August on Unsplash

I greeted you with a smile

You locked the door with a grin

I let down my walls

It was a miracle I let you in

I sat right here

You sat over there

I relaxed the more we laughed

Soon you were stroking my hair

You were too close

The space between us disappeared

You refused to stop

A scenario I feared

I took a deep breath

Spoke with full control of my tongue

Calmly reached into my purse

Quietly pulled out my gun

You didn't see it coming

Your blood stained my hands

I refused to let you hurt me anymore

Strangely no one understands

From a cold sleep, kicking and screaming

I jump from my bed

I didn't actually kill you but

Nightly, I dream you are dead

But no one understands and so

I just keep smiling anyway

All I really want is

For this all to just go away

All I really want is for it all to go away

Go away

Smile

Smile until it goes away

love poems
1

About the Creator

DC McLevain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.