Poets logo

Slumber, My Dearest Friend

A better friend I could not find

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Slumber, My Dearest Friend
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Sleep, oh slumber

My dearest friend,

Verily to you I come again.

***

For what burdens

I cannot bare

When life becomes too weary

For me to care

***

I shrink from life

And curl up in your embrace

To sleep away the pain of things

I cannot face.

***

A better friend I could not find

Your sweet velvety darkness

Doth ease the cruelties

That torture my mind

***

Others tell me

I should abandon you

That our bond is not healthy

That you are stealing my life oh so stealthy

***

What do they know of us?

How can they not see

That I am good with thee

And you are good with me

***

Perhaps it is jealousy

They long for what we have perhaps?

Would true friends deprive us

Of the comforts we provide each each other?

***

The velvety darkness of your embrace

Is a much better place for me

than when my eyes are wide

and the pain and corruptness gnaws at my insides

***

Who that loves me would deny me this mercy

Which I could seek in a thousand different ways

That could verily take me to a grave?

***

Instead, I lay in slumber

rather than in stupor

And I dream of things that make me smile

And those dreams help me live this life a longer while.

***

So do not try to rip me from the bossom

of my good friend

That allows my tears to dry

And trail no more to drip from chin

***

Allow me this sweet escape

Until I am ready to dream less

And live more.

***

Darkness, my beloved, embrace me once more

They shall not take you from me just yet

For I still have much I wish to forget.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred8 months ago

    One that I had missed Pam , lovely words

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Poem reflects the sadness of a soul weary at night and then waiting for refreshment of morning. I love it! Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.