Poets logo

Secrets

They are not mine - I carry them no more

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Created using PhotoPea

Secrets - we wear them like pearls on a string but they aren't precious gems.

They aren't even ours to bare and yet we carry them.

Why? Why do we take on their burdens and feel shame when they have none?

When every emotion they display is but a trick from their play book to extract more money to support their choices.

You are not worthy of their time except to charm you to loosen the purse strings.

They care not about your feelings because they are incapable of feeling anything for anyone except each other.

None can feel victimized because they are the perpetual victims.

And though there are those who are at the mercy of their choices, and truly victimized without any way to protect themselves, they still choose only each other regardless of the cost to themselves and others.

I wish I understood it friends.

I wish I had answers for us all that walk in this kinship of misery we didn't ask for.

The best I can do at this time is to close my heart and close my checkbook.

To retreat.

To leave them to their secrets though it is apparent to any and all who sees them.

But they can have their charade.

They can tell their lies.

Perhaps they still believe themselves but the rest of us know there are no truths left and there hasn't been for years.

Every well eventually runs dry.

Everything always comes to an end.

I have come to my end in this web of deceit.

I am a mother no more.

One is not required.

And I am not alive for the child I birthed and lives still.

I am a ghost walking in the ruins of the life I gave her but that she purposely wrecked and threw away.

She wears the rock around her neck and allows them both to drown.

I have mourned so long my tears are now dry.

I must leave a rose on this grave of lost dreams and walk away and not look back.

They have their secrets and they can keep them but I carry them for them no more.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.