Poets logo

Slipping Shadows

Memories fail sometimes, don't they?

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
6
Slipping Shadows
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Shit.

Shit.

When did I lose the taste of you?

When did you shift out of the familiar

And into the territory of rare delicacy?

Shit!

.

After all this time a shadow left on my tongue,

An imprint of the sheets on my cheeks

Mocking the delusional good night of sleep.

How could I sleep when you were drifting away

To some back corner of my mind?

Shit...

.

I let it go.

I let the feeling, the pulse, the obsessive hyperfixation of you

Float away on the autumn breeze,

Slip out of my lungs like the last cough of an illness

While I what? Drank another pumpkin spice latte?

Ate a scone? A pastry? Scribbled in my notebook?

.

Shit!

I let it go!

I can't taste the coffee you drank,

Can't smell the cigarettes you smoked.

The heavy stench of that cologne in your car is gone.

What am I left with but a postcard, a stamp from where you've been?

.

A shadow.

I am left with the shadow of you

Eclipsing those pungent memories.

Left with a ring of coffee on my notebook instead of the cup,

The speck of dirt from a plant but not the leaves.

I'm left with the shit stuck to my shoe, but no memory of you.

love poemsStream of Consciousnessslam poetrysad poetryCONTENT WARNING
6

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit12 days ago

    Great story..

  • D.K. Shepard20 days ago

    Devastatingly and haltingly powerful. “Slip out of my lungs like the last cough of an illness” was such an apt descriptor, you never know it was the last until it’s long gone

  • D. J. Reddall21 days ago

    A deft distillation of the painful truth of ephemerality.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.