Poets logo

Breath

Inhale, exhale

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
10
Breath
Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

I am stuck in the swirling spot below my navel,

Stuck in the canyon between inhale and exhale

Where movement lingers, thinks, and freezes.

I am chained to the earth,

Rigid in my bones.

.

There is no wind in the field of my soul,

No sunrise, sunset, or moonrise.

The heat death of the universe

Has struck the depths of my eyes

And I am cold.

.

Dreaming of warmth, dreaming of life, dreaming of breath

And falling through the cracks,

Sticking to velcro

While I wilt, lean forward into the grey

Lapping at the sides of my vision, the edges of my soul.

Free VerseFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowerman20 days ago

    Great images. Loved it!

  • ROCK 21 days ago

    Whoa, heavy and an important piece of you. Thanks for sharing ☺️

  • D.K. Shepard21 days ago

    Intense and potent! Loved the descriptor “Stuck in the canyon between inhale and exhale”

  • Natasha Collazo21 days ago

    I call these my freeze moments, where I shut down, and yes, stop and breath. nicely expressed

  • Paul Stewart21 days ago

    This feels so relatable. You have such a way of weaving evocative words. Love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.