Poets logo

Grey

Never been one for emotions

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
7
Grey
Photo by George Hoza on Unsplash

I rotted something in my brain

When I first tasted dopamine on my tongue.

I rotted the stoic parts of my blood,

Tore down the strong stone walls of my resolve

The first time I felt something fill my veins.

.

Emptiness had followed me around,

Swallowed me since I learned to toddle,

And then it was gone.

Fled from my system like a flock of migrating birds.

They died over the winter and never came back.

.

I am alone.

In this hunger,

In this thirst,

In this impossible desire to dip my hands into the stream of pleasure

And feel something.

.

I feel nothing, nothing, nothing

And then a wonderful spark of everything all at once.

Thirty seconds, two minutes, then five.

And then it is gone again,

Lost to the drowning tide of emptiness inside.

.

Take me away

To a place where my footsteps won't print in the snow

And the mud won't have a chance to suck my boots into the ether.

Take me away to a place where emotions are frequent

And this emptiness never had a chance to be born.

For Funsurreal poetrysad poetryFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Bonnie Bowermanabout a month ago

    Wow Loved it!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    This whole poem is achingly raw. And the last stanza carries such a mournful wish that was quite searing. A stunning and staggering poem, Silver.

  • So deep and beautifully written!

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    How we crave to feel everything and nothing at all. great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.