Poets logo

Slices of pain

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Slices of pain
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

I know my pain is not interesting to you.

I know you look upon my tears as a annoying burden.

You slice up my heart like it were a bloodless, lifeless tomb.

You sliced me up and I stitched myself back together.

I do not know how to make perfect, straight, tiny stitches.

I am still falling apart.

As I stand here, I am very whole in matter.

In mind, I am shattered.

I know you do not think I am good.

I would rather dissipate into nothingness than feel like this.

I know matter cannot truly be destroyed. No, not really.

I only wish I was obliterated, a nothing, a blank.

Slices of pain that I feel radiating throughout that ache of my own existence,

I go to make dinner, I put my love for you in it.

It’s done.

I’m done.

Did I burn the meal? Did you place poison in my ear?

It’s all a metaphor, darling,

Don’t go crying wolf

When you are the reflection of it’s baring teeth, all for show.

Slices of you on my face.

You are stitched together with my sweet smile,

You are here with me,

Sliced up, an embodiment of pain.

We are merely sliced up truths in a sea of lies,

And you gladly swim

You painfully swim

While I slowly drown

The salty sea seeping

Into my cracks

“Yes, I’ll make dinner.”

slam poetry
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    Well done!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Wow , that was an amazing creation . ☺️Hearted for sure

  • So sad but beautiful!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.